The conference would provide a platform for comprehensive assessment of the prevailing situation of River Ganga and how various interventions have resulted in escalation of problems relating to flood, ever increasing submergence, erosion in new areas, adverse impact on livelihood and the eco-system and finally heading towards extinction of river itself. The experts, social activists, subject matter specialist, persons of eminence who have demonstrated success in relevant fields, administrators well versed on the subject would create a necessary information base reflecting the contemporary analysis of the issues involved.

The conference would deliberate on future policy issues, technical solution, long term perspective plans to conserve river Ganga and its related eco-system in synergy with the ambient geographical and social conditions in a mutually supporting manner. The conference would take up the issue of progressive siltation in the Ganges, other interventions by way of constructing National Waterways, its ill-consequences and way forward as special focus.


"Incessant & Pure River Ganga is our Mission", i.e., right from origin to its end meeting with the ocean. There is a huge sedimentation problem in Bihar which needs to be addressed and find solutions. There is a need to discuss the Technical, Administrative and Social aspects of "Sedimentation a Colossal Impediment to Incessant Flow of river Ganga: Problem and Solution" in the conference and find a practical solution.

A look at the details


New Delhi is the capital of India and one of Delhi state's 11 districts. Although colloquially Delhi and New Delhi are used interchangeably to refer to the National Capital Territory of Delhi, these are two distinct entities, with New Delhi forming a small part of Delhi.


Water And Land Management Institute (WALMI), Patna was created in 1983 under Water Resources Department, Govt. of Bihar and declared an autonomous organisation from 01.09.1999. WALMI is a technical repository of the department which takes...

Major Speakers

  • Swami Avimukteshwaranand

    Swami Avimukteshwaranand

  • Shri Harivansh

    Shri Harivansh

  • Dr. G. D. Agarwal

    Dr. G. D. Agarwal

  • Mr. Rajendra Singh

    Mr. Rajendra Singh

  • Hon'ble MP Mr Jairam Ramesh

    Hon'ble MP Mr Jairam Ramesh

  • Hon'ble Justice Mr. V. Gopala Gowda

    Hon'ble Justice Mr. V. Gopala Gowda


Shri Rajiv Ranjan Singh Honb'le Minister, Water Resources Department , Govt of Bihar


Shri Arun Kumar Singh Principal Secretary, WRD, Govt. Of Bihar


Er Indu Bhushan Kumar Engineer in Chief, HQ, WRD, Govt. Of Bihar


Er Ram Pukar Ranjan Engineer in Chief, Irrigation Creation, WRD, Govt. Of Bihar

Er Rajesh Kumar Engineer in Chief, Flood Control, WRD, Govt. Of Bihar


Dr Murlidhar Singh, Professor (Environment & Drainage), WALMI Patna


Dr Ishwar Chandra Thakur, Professor (Engineering), WALMI Patna


Er Rabindra Kumar Shanker, SE, (P & M Circle-1), WRD, Govt. Of Bihar


Mr A.K Rastogi, EE,(P & M Circle-1), WRD, Govt. Of Bihar